Nominations Are Now Open For The London FA and FA Community Awards 2017

The search for grassroots heroes both in London and across the country has begun! The nominations for both the annual London FA Grassroots Awards and FA Community Awards are now open.

The London FA Grassroots Awards aim to recognise and reward those who individuals, clubs, leagues or organisations, who dedicate themselves to keeping the national game alive. Nominees can be from any walk of life and the London FA is calling on locals to nominate their unsung heroes who have gone above and beyond in the name of football.

The Awards are split into several categories and each category is judged at a county level before a shortlist of nominees is created.

The London FA winners in each of the The FA Charter Standard categories will then be put forward to represent London in the regional and national rounds. 

The national winners for each category – except for the ‘People’s Award’ (known as the ‘Outstanding Contribution Award’ in county and regional rounds) – are chosen by a national panel comprised of ex-professionals and past winners. The national winner of the ‘People’s Award’ is voted for by the public and announced at The FA Community Awards national ceremony. This very special award celebrates exceptional volunteering efforts and carries the added prestige of being voted for by the public.

The nominations period for The FA Community Awards will be open until Thursday 13th April. Volunteers should be nominated by someone else rather than nominating themselves, while anyone involved in a club or league can nominate their own club or league. Entrants for all categories can be nominated via an online form or by post.

County, regional and national winners can expect to receive various prizes, ranging from match day tickets, to coaching bursaries, kit, and equipment.

You can find more information on The FA Charter Standard Awards and past winners here.

More information on the London FA Grassroots Awards can be found here.

Click one of the 13 categories to nominate now. 

The 13 award categories are:

The FA Charter Standard Community Club Award

The FA Charter Standard Development Club Award

The FA Charter Standard Club Award

The FA Charter Standard League of the Year Award

The FA Best Inclusive Project Award

The FA Coach of the Year

The FA People's Award - Outstanding Contribution to Community Football

The FA Young Volunteer of the Year Award

London FA Contribution to Women's and Girls' Football Award

The London FA Contribution to Refereeing Award

The London FA Contribution to Youth Football Award

The London FA Supporting Recreational Football Award

The London FA Community Football Partner of the Year Award

 “The London FA, The FA and McDonald’s Community Awards are an absolutely brilliant way to award and celebrate the selflessness of volunteers, clubs and leagues and the great work they achieve and the support they provide to our grassroots family,” said Natalie Doyle, Head of Engagement and Support from the London FA.

If you have any questions or need help or advice when nominating please contact